Food Review – Arora Creations Indian Spice Blends

July 21, 2009 § 3 Comments

I’ve never tried an ethnic cuisine I didn’t like and that goes for Indian food as well.  Indian is definitely one of my favorites, but over the years I’ve found it very difficult to recreate the restaurant quality taste at home. 

While in my local health food store, I noticed a few packets of different Indian spice blends by Arora Creations.  Upon further inspection, I saw they were organic, gluten free, low sodium and there was a recipe on the back of the packet.  I decided to give them a try.  I picked the punjabi chhole spice blend for chick peas. 

The recipe (slight variation from the packet because I rarely follow recipes exactly):

  • few tablespoons EVOO
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh ginger
  • 1 small onion chopped
  • 2 (15 oz cans) chick peas drained and rinsed
  • 1 seeded diced tomato (or you could use a can of diced tomato undrained)
  • 1/4 cup cilantro
  • 1/2 cup water

Heat the oil over medium heat for 1 minute.  Add ginger, onions, and tomato and let it simmer a few mins.  Add chick peas and stir for a few minutes.  Add spice blend and 1/2 cup water and let simmer about 10 mins.  Garnish with cilantro and serve.

Here’s a photo of the finished dish:

Beandish 006

I chose to serve this with fresh steamed brown rice.  The recipe suggests you could serve it with yogurt or some Indian bread (naan) which I have seen in the bread section of my local supermarket.

Overall, I felt the flavor was very good.  It was a little on the spicy side which my husband and I like.  They suggest using half the packet if you don’t want a strong flavor which is an option.  There are so many Indian spices, it can be overwhelming to get the spice just right when you are doing it yourself.  I really like the fact that the guesswork was taken out of it so it could be one of those quick go to meals. 

For more information on the different spice blends, recipes, and health benefits of the spices used, visit their website here.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Food Review – Arora Creations Indian Spice Blends

  • Deana says:

    GTgirl,
    I am going to give the one a try if I can find the spices at my local health food store. I love an all vegan meal that i think my whole family will possibly enjoy, plus I love Indian food as well! Thanks for another great tip!

  • greenteagrl says:

    Hope you can pick this up to give it a try! I found out from their website that if you like any of the spice blends you can order directly from the company in bulk with 1lb being the minimum order. Just something to think about. 🙂

  • Laura says:

    Yum! I love Indian food. I’ll have to look for Arora Creations in one of the stores near me. If I can’t find that particular brand I’m sure I can get something similar since the Bay Area is foodie paradise.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Food Review – Arora Creations Indian Spice Blends at Living Lean.

meta

