Test Recipe – No Bake Fudge Brownies

July 25, 2009 § 4 Comments

I am a big fan of Navitas Naturals organic superfood products and I was browsing their website recently for some good recipes to try.  I stumbled onto a raw food, vegan, and gluten free no bake fudge brownie recipe I just had to try. 

What you’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup pitted dates
  • 1/4 cup Navitas Naturals raw cacao powder
  • 1/2 cup raw walnuts
  • 1 tablespoon hemp oil
  • pinch of sea salt
  • raw cacao nibs to coat the brownies or to add in for a crunch

Place all ingredients except cacao nibs into a food processor and process until a dough forms.  Roll dough into little balls or small squares and top with cacao nibs.  I opted for squares.  I decided to put the a tablespoon of cacao nibs into the food processor to break them down a bit instead of putting them on top.  Also, the original recipe said a dough would form and it didn’t so I added the tablespoon of hemp oil to make the dough form.  These taste like intense chocolate fudge.  Amazing!

Of course, I would never forget to shoot a pic, so here it is with a sprig of fresh mint from my herb garden. 

brownies

 

Here’s the link to the original recipe if you want to check it out.  If you are craving chocolate and want to try something healthy, give these a try.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Test Recipe – No Bake Fudge Brownies

  • Laura says:

    Yum!!! I bet coconut oil would work well in place of the hemp oil if you happened not to have hemp oil on hand.

  • greenteagrl says:

    I was thinking about coconut oil first but I think it has a strong flavor and decided to go with hemp oil instead. I had it in the house so why not. 🙂

  • Pam says:

    I used flax oil because that’s all I had. Ended up being a bit too oily. I think I could cut way back, or blend longer and maybe it would form a dough without the oil (sort of like pie crust, the way it seems crumbly, but when you press together, it sticks. I rolled the dough in coconut flakes. It is soooooo good! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
    OH! You’re my new favorite blogger fyi

    • greenteagrl says:

      Thanks so much for stopping by AND trying the recipe! I thought it was delicious also. I am definitely going to try your suggestion with the coconut flakes next time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Test Recipe – No Bake Fudge Brownies at Living Lean.

meta

