My GMO Soapbox

July 28, 2009 § 4 Comments

I read a disturbing  post this morning about genetically modified organisms (GMOs).  President Barrack Obama is really letting us down in this country.  To read the post I’m so fired up about, click here.  I am very passionate and outspoken when it comes to GMOs in our food supply.  Let me explain why.

I first became aware of GMOs in the mid1990’s.  I was a subscriber to Oxygen Magazine, which is a women’s fitness magazine.  There was an article about genetically modified tomatoes that talked about how they genetically altered the genes in a tomato so it would grow larger and resist over ripening.  While this sounds great in theory, at what cost to human health are these advances in science?  We will find out first hand because adequate studies were never done.  They just released GMOs into the food supply in 1996.  As always, big business and profits were probably a motivating factor.  You would not be able to tell the difference between a GMO tomato and a regular tomato by the appearance and you will never know the difference because GMO produce or foods containing GMO ingredients are not allowed to be labeled.  Fabulous!

Fast forward 10 plus years later, and the rate for food allergies among children goes up 18%.  This is some additional information about that data.  I personally know a few women that have developed auto immune diseases.   It’s no surprise auto immune diseases are on the rise as well.  Here are the auto immune statistics.  What about cancer, infertility, and obesity rates?  We all know those are on the rise!  Are GMOs to blame?  I’m sure not entirely.  Do GMOs have a big part in it?  I think absolutely. 

In 2004, while pregnant with my son, I only consumed organic milk, bought the best meat I could find, and chose vegetables wisely.  My son has food allergies.  A level 6 (the highest) peanut allergy.  A moderate (level 3) egg allergy.  He had horrible eczema as a baby but seemed to outgrow that and he has asthma.  Now while it’s true I do have allergies and had asthma as a child and these are hereditary, the growing rate of peanut allergy in this country is undeniable.  He goes to a peanut free preschool and I have to carry an epi-pen in case he goes into anaphalactic shock by coming into contact with peanuts.  This food allergy could kill him.  It’s no joke!  As a child I don’t recall one person with a peanut allergy.

My own health problems with almost being diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis a few years ago really made me change my way of life.  I started seeing a nutritionist in the attempt to boost my immune system.  She was where I got alot of my ideas on food and my health improved dramatically.  I continue with alot of the advice she gave me.  I don’t consume all organic, non GMO food all the time.  Let’s be realistic here.  I do what I can afford and I make what my kids eat a priority.  The larger crops, wheat, corn, and soy are likely to contain GMOs unless they are labeled that they are not.

Let me see if I can predict how it’s going to go.  GMOs and other environmental factors cause a rise in illness, then doctors prescribe drugs.  Who wins here?  Big companies and at the expense of our health!  We each decide what is important to us.  I decide my health is more important than some corporation’s or pharmeceutical’s profits.

If you want an in depth look at GMOs, I highly recommend watching the movie “The Future of Food” or check out this GMO information website.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to My GMO Soapbox

  • Thanks for writing this. I wonder how much the GMO impacts food allergies as well. My youngest daughter is 18 months and is allergic to eggs, milk, peanuts and soy. She may likely outgrow the milk and soy, but the eggs and peanuts are quite severe.

    Found your article searching food allergies on Twitter. I have written quite a bit about food allergies on my blog if you are intrested in checking it out. Take care! Missy

  • greenteagrl says:

    Thank you for reading it! I went back and forth as to whether I should write it but the subject angers me and I figured it was my blog so why not. It sounds like you have your hands full with your daughter’s food allergies. Unfortunately, it’s not the first time I have heard of so many food allergies. It ends up costing us more money to feed our children and a peanut allergy as you know is extremely serious.

    You have a great blog. I will be visiting it often!
    Julie

  • Stephanie says:

    Thanks for such an informative post. As an American living in Spain I am always surprised by all of the food allergies kids have in the US. I don’t know any kids with peanut allergies where I am (I’ve got two school aged children and my husband is principal of one of the public schools in town).

  • greenteagrl says:

    It’s interesting that you don’t know any children with peanut allergies living in Spain, yet I know about 5 personally. That’s too many to ignore. Most people don’t even know about GMOs. Frankenfood is a reality in the U.S. Thanks so much for reading and commenting!
    Julie

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My GMO Soapbox at Living Lean.

meta

