My Feet are Free!

July 30, 2009 § 2 Comments

There’s been lots of talk recently about barefoot training both in weight training and in running.  This article in particular (posted by a Twitter friend @georgesamuelson) caught my eye.  People are trading in their highly cushioned sneakers for Vibram Five Fingers, Nike Free, or no shoes at all!  This had me thinking about my own sneakers and issues I struggle with.  I run in a stability sneaker, Asics GT-2130, and have run in the new model of the GT series for about 10 years now.  Every Christmas Santa brings me the new model.  GT-2140 is already on the market and I think I may tell Santa to bring me some Vibram Five Fingers instead! 

With being pregnant twice, my foot is one size larger than it used to be.  They went up a half size with each pregnancy.  Then you typically go up a half size for running shoes.  I found this out the hard way!  I am now wearing a size 9 running shoe.  Or am I?  With a 33 pound weight loss, they now feel a little big.  Then running at fast speeds I can feel my bad knee aching a bit.  Was it a little too much cushioning?  I was about to find out!

With the buzz of barefoot training in my ear, I decided to get a pair of Nike Free running shoes over the weekend.  I went to a Nike outlet and got them for $70.  They are usually $85.  I still needed a size 9 which was surprising.  The sales clerk cautioned to walk in them every day for a week before training in them.  I didn’t take her advice.

I wore them to the gym on Monday for spin class and they felt good.  Not overly cushioned, yet still supportive in the arch and heel.  Then I wore them to gym this morning to do my sprints and they were better than I expected!  I could actually feel each strike, no knee pain, and all around feeling grounded and having better control.  The only thing I did notice is that it’s very loud when I’m running on the treadmill.  Louder than with the highly cushioned Asics.  Not sure if it’s me, the sneakers, or the particular treadmill but it’s fine.  I’m very pleased with the purchase overall and would definitely recommend them!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to My Feet are Free!

  • Cath says:

    Good review Julie! Thanks! I must have missed the memo about the Frees, seems like they’re all the rage right now. :o) I may have to check the outlet malls in Vegas while I’m there and just try them on.

  • greenteagrl says:

    Definitely worth trying on! I tried them on 3 weeks ago and then decided I needed to go back and get them. I was in the market for new running sneakers anyway so why not?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Feet are Free! at Living Lean.

meta

