Product Review – The Rotater

August 5, 2009 § 1 Comment

I first heard about The Rotater from a fellow blogger from Twitter @daniel_hautjobb.  Recently he did a blog post about the product and how it has helped him.  You can check it out here.   

The Rotater, by Joint Mechanix, performs two functions.  It strengthens the shoulder and strengthens the rotater cuff.  When I received the product, I reviewed the paperwork and I’ll admit it was a little tough to figure out what I was doing.  It was only until I viewed The Rotater in action that I was able to just pick it up and follow along.  Check out The Rotater in action:

What I most commonly came across as a massage therapist was Frozen Shoulder Syndrome.  Wikipedia describes Frozen Shoulder as a disorder in which the connective tissue surrounding the glenohumeral jointof the shoulder, becomes inflamed and stiff, and grows together with abnormal bands of tissue, called adhesions, greatly restricting motion and causing chronic pain.  It is commonly found in people over the age of 40 and can either come about as a result of an accident or injury or for no reason at all. 

A rotater cuff injury is when one or more of the four tendons in the shoulder either become inflamed or tears completely causing pain at the top of the shoulder and even the arm.  It usually affects the dominant arm and could require surgery in some cases. 

There are many overuse injuries associated with performing the same movements like overhead presses or kettlebell presses or snatches.  This is why self care of shoulders is very important.  I plan on adding The Rotater to my regular schedule of foam rolling to help improve performance and prevent overuse injuries. 

Overall, I liked the product and would highly recommend it.  I felt the product would be useful for shoulder rehab patients as well as the regular fitness enthusiast.  My shoulders feel great and just yesterday I went up in weight for my front squat push press.  To find out more about The Rotater or to order your own, check out their website here.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Product Review – The Rotater

  • arrowdynamicmom says:

    Hi! I’m getting caught up on blogs while Twitter is down. Thanks for your review! My husband has a bad shoulder and this device looks like it will be helpful. How I wish we could get insurance to pay for stuff like this, instead of more drugs…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Product Review – The Rotater at Living Lean.

meta

