Daily Log 8/24/09

August 24, 2009 § Leave a comment

I was so happy to see the regular spin teacher at the gym this morning!  The class was great.  I love doing one class a week because I really do look forward to it.  Great start to the day.

Here’s the rest of my day:

a.m. – Workout 1 – spin class

1.   immediately following – syntrax nectar protein drink.  after shower – green drink, organic coffee w/organic whole milk

2.  1 cup strawberry kefir w/scoop miracle reds, serving almond blueberry crunch

3.  3 buttermilk oatmeal pancakes (will post recipe soon), cantaloupe

4.  raw sugar snap peas and broccoli w/3 tablespoons hummus, serving of almond blueberry crunch

5.  2 bean chipotle chili, 1/4 c brown rice, watermelon

Workout 2  – kettlebell practice (see below)

6.  plain greek yogurt, blueberries, raw walnuts, squeeze honey, nut and seed crunch bar

I was hungry today.  Probably the kettlebell work I’m adding in a few days a week.  In any case, I ate more than I usually do.  🙂

 

Workout 2

7 minutes TGUs with an 8 lb dumbbell.  This was a good lesson for me.   I could tell I was getting tired at about 6 minutes but pushed through.  I probably would not do that next time. 

I also did 4 cleans on each side with a 12kg bell.  I found out today my 8kg is backordered for 3 – 4 weeks!  My choices are to buy a cheap 8kg bell to practice cleans or try it with the 12kg that I have.  The first one on each side was fine but then it started going downhill from there. 

My plan is to use the 12kg and go with the limited instruction I have on cleans.  I also plan to use my Enter the Kettlebell book and some excellent YouTube RKC videos to guide me until I take Dr. Cheng’s workshop on October 3rd.

Tomorrow morning is lifting.  I am cringing at the thought of “the matrix”!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Daily Log 8/24/09 at Living Lean.

meta

