Recipe: Gluten Free Eggplant Parmesan

August 27, 2009 § 4 Comments

Keeping with eating in season, I found myself with 3 medium eggplants that I was wondering what to do with.  I love eggplant parmesan and make it maybe twice a year.  It has changed over the years because I’m just really busy now (aren’t we all) with my kiddos so I take help where I can and still keep it healthy.  Ask me for the recipe 5 years ago I would have made my own tomato sauce, breadcrumbs, and cheese from scratch.  Well maybe not so severe. 🙂

Ingredients

  • 3 medium eggplant – peeled and sliced in 1/4 inch slices
  • olive oil or oil for frying – I like Smart Balance Omega.  It’s a blend of olive, soy, and canola oil.
  • 3 egg whites, 1 egg whisked
  • gluten free breadcrumbs (I bought a 13 oz container of Aleia’s Italian gluten free breadcrumbs)
  • 1 jar Muir Glen organic tomato basil pasta sauce (or any pasta sauce)
  • 1 (15oz) can organic tomato sauce
  • 1 (2 lb container) part skim ricotta cheese (my favorite is Sorrento)
  • 1 (8 oz) pkg shredded part skim mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
  • fresh ground black pepper
  • hand torn fresh basil leaves

Start by peeling and slicing eggplant.  Put the eggs in one dish and the breadcrumbs in another dish for the breading station.  (I skip the flour step to avoid the gluten.)  Put some oil in a pan and let it heat up.  Meanwhile, put the eggplant into the egg, then the breadcrumb, then into the pan.  Once that batch is done place them on a paper towl over a plate.  Continue with all the eggplant putting a paper towel between each layer.

Once that is done, take the ricotta cheese, 1/2 package of mozzarella cheese, the parmesan cheese, black pepper and the Italian seasoning and mix in a bowl.  Put some of the pasta sauce in the bottom of a 9×13 in baking dish.  Put some eggplant on the bottom, top with dollops of the ricotta mixture, then spoonfuls of sauce and repeat this procedure twice.  You may be getting low on pasta sauce at this point, so you can use the can of tomato sauce to put over the top if needed (I used 1/2 of the can).  Then top with the remaining mozzarella cheese.  Cover with aluminum foil.

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 1 hour, taking the foil off after 45 minutes.  Top with fresh torn basil leaves.  Let it rest 15 – 20 minutes before cutting into it.

By looking at the dish, I would say it has 12 servings.  Here’s a pic:

DSCF3706

I felt this was a little too cheesy for me but that could be because I didn’t let it rest before I cut into it and the cheese was running out of it.  In my opinion, you couldn’t tell the difference between the gluten free breadcrumbs and regular breadcrumbs.  I chose to fry the eggplant because that’s how I love it.  This is why I make it only a few times a year! 

Some ways you can lighten it up even further:

  • Bake the eggplant
  • Use a smaller container of ricotta cheese
  • Use less mozzarella or parmesan cheese

If you have some eggplant around, give this a try!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Recipe: Gluten Free Eggplant Parmesan

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recipe: Gluten Free Eggplant Parmesan at Living Lean.

meta

