Daily Log 9/14/09

September 14, 2009 § 2 Comments

I didn’t post yesterday’s meals and workout because I was still thinking about the Food, Inc. movie.  I spent some time looking up farms in my area on www.eatwild.com.  I think a trip to a farm is in my future.  I found one that raises cows, pigs, and sells raw cow milk cheeses and farm fresh eggs. 

Then I found myself researching the difference between “grass fed” and “grass fed and finished”.  Apparently meat labeled as “grass fed” means at some point in the animal’s life they were fed grass but could have been fed grains as well.  Meat labeled “grass fed and finished” means that the animal was fed grass it’s entire life.  An important distinction.

Then because I don’t know anything about it and kept seeing it come up, I started researching the benefits of raw milk and raw milk cheeses.  Apparently it is extremely good for your immune system.  The pasteurization process kills enzymes and pretty much anything good the milk offers.  To read more, check out this raw milk fact sheet.

In any case, my meals yesterday were clean and my workout was kettlebell practice first thing in the morning.  8kg cleans, presses (not many), one arm swings and two arm swings with the 12kg.

Here’s my day today:

a.m. – spin class

1.  syntrax nectar protein drink, green drink, organic coffee w/organic whole milk

2.  1 cup strawberry kefir w/scoop Miracle Reds, serving almond blueberry crunch

3.  leftover chicken and black bean chili over 1/4 cup rice

4.  raw sugar snap peas with 3 tablespoons hummus

5.  3 oz wild salmon burger, roasted asparagus, 1/4 cup brown rice

Kettlebell workout – 5 minutes of TGU practice with the 8kg

6.  plain greek yogurt, raw walnuts, squeeze of local honey

Tomorrow morning starts phase 4 of New Rules of Lifting for Women and one of my favorite exercises is up first.  Front squat push press! 

If anyone has experience with raw milk or raw milk cheeses, I’d love to hear.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Daily Log 9/14/09

  • Kelley Moore says:

    I did not know that about the “grass fed and finished” distinction, very very important! Thanks for sharing that information! I have not yet explored raw milk but there is a nutritionist by the name of Isabel De Los Rios and I get her newsletter. She has a program called The Diet Solution Program. Her blog is http://thedietsolution-program.com/blog and she’s on Twitter also @IsabelDeLosRios (but I don’t see a lot of posts on Twitter from her). At any rate, she has mentioned raw milk several times so you might want to check her out.

  • greenteagrl says:

    Thanks for the blog recommendation Kelley. I read a few of her blog posts and I will definitely spend some time reading more. It’s amazing how tricky labeling can be isn’t it? The grass fed and finished label is an important one!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Daily Log 9/14/09 at Living Lean.

meta

