Recap: RKC Prep Workshop 10/3/09

October 4, 2009 § 3 Comments

I attended an RKC prep workshop yesterday taught by Dr. Mark Cheng, RKC Team Leader (among many other things). The workshop was held at the Israeli Krav Maga U.S. Training Center in Hamilton, NJ. I got there early so I got to see a few minutes of a Krav Maga class in action. The class was partnered up and they were choking each other with ropes and practicing 3 scenarios to get out of it as demonstrated by the instructor. That, in addition to plastic guns and knives hanging around, made it look like some pretty hardcore stuff.

This workshop was a smaller group from the last one I attended. Two of the people in the class are signed up for RKC Philadelphia scheduled for next weekend. The rest of us were trainers, fitness instructors, and a strength enthusiast (that would be me).

Dr. Cheng spent some time going over the fundamentals of swings. Certainly one of the most important exercises and one you must be proficient in to progress into other movements like cleans and snatches. From there we moved on to turkish get ups using no weight. I learned this at one of his previous workshops and have been practicing them so this was a good refresher. It certainly doesn’t hurt to have set of expert eyes tell you what you need tweak!  There are so many points to remember. A major one is to engage those lats! I am feeling all that lat engagement today. 🙂

Next up were snatches. I used a 12kg bell at first. I did get a few good ones in but fear was hindering my progress. Switching to the 8kg was better for my comfort level. After switching to the 8kg, Dr. Cheng had me do 15:15 protocol. I say had ME do because I was the only one who did them while the class watched! Well, at some point another student joined me but that was pretty scary to be put on the spot like that. Luckily I’m good under pressure and I was moving too quickly to let the fear creep in. So 15 seconds on and 15 seconds rest then switch arms for the next round with the goal to get in about 8 snatches in the work set. I seemed to be cruising that pace on my right side, but my left I was getting about 7. I believe we did 6 working rounds. This certainly boosted my confidence in my snatch ability. Now I just have to practice, practice, oh and more practice.

Cleans were next. I did a few of these before I noticed I tore a callous on the right base of the middle finger. I’m not going to lie, it hurt like hell. Thankfully someone had some tape and once it was taped up I kept going. Cleans, presses, and squats. It was extremely helpful to get feedback. I think this is SO important to your training whether you attend a workshop or have a session with an RKC.

After that, we did a goblet squat workout. 10 goblet squats and hold the last rep for 10 seconds at the bottom, 10 breathing ladders, then another set of goblet squats. I like squats so these were great. The not so great thing was I chose 16kg bell for this and my grip was failing toward the end of the second set. I already know grip strength is a weak point for me so it’s on my list of things to work on. Then we moved on to 2 minutes of continuous swings. I chose an 8kg for this. I did some one arm swings switching every 10 reps until I got tired, then switched to two arm swings for the remainder of the time. That was tough!

From there, Dr. Cheng answered some questions and the workshop was done. I have to admit that after I drove home, I actually picked up my 8kg bell and did a few snatches on each side to make sure I could still do them. The answer is YES I can!

Here’s a picture of my nasty ripped callous. Let’s hope it heals quickly so I don’t have to wear tape on it for training.

I woke up this morning feeling like I’d been run over by a truck.  A few doses of motrin and a soak in a hot tub and I hope to be back to myself in no time.  🙂

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Recap: RKC Prep Workshop 10/3/09

  • Daniel Nh says:

    RKC Prep class sounds like it was really informative and purposeful. Working with RKC, especially someone like Dr. Mark Cheng, is so beneficial. Correcting technique makes a big difference. Glad you enjoyed the class. An accomplishment, indeed.

  • Jaimie says:

    Awesome! Sounds like you learned a lot … I would love to attend one of his workshops out here 🙂 … eventually 😉

  • J.Savage says:

    You are a warrior! We need more females like you training like you – keep that mindset! Keep learning, educating yourself and asking questions!

    Oh remember this quote when it comes to getting lean –

    “Fat loss is an all-out war. Give it 28 days. Only 28 days. Attack it with all you have. It’s not a lifestyle choice, it’s a battle. Lose fat and then get back into moderation. There’s another one for you: moderation. Rev…elation says it best: you are lukewarm and I shall spit you out. Moderation is for sissies.” — Dan John, legend

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recap: RKC Prep Workshop 10/3/09 at Living Lean.

meta

