Training for week 11/8/09 – 11/14/09

November 14, 2009 § Leave a comment

This should be a really easy post.  No training to report.  Sleeping late and getting over the cold I had were the only things I did.  This worked out great because there was a slow moving nor’easter that came through with lots of rain and wind.  Perfect sleeping weather.  After a few days off, I started feeling sluggish.  I seemed to need more coffee and even with the additional sleep, I lacked energy.  I believe this is how most of America walks around. It’s so true that exercise energizes you and the sleep you get when you exercise is quality sleep. 

I found out on Monday that my neighbor lost her 5 year battle with cervical cancer and passed at the age of 45.  She left a husband of 12 years, and two daughters, 10 and 6 years old.  With the stormy weather and hearing this news I felt a little depressed.  I will admit that this reinforces how I feel about the choices I make every day.  The choice to exercise and the food choices I make.  Maybe this would have made a difference in my neighbor’s life.  Maybe it wouldn’t.  In any case, I’m not going to be a 65 year old woman just realizing I need to take care of myself.  The time is now and I choose to live in the now and make the choices that will ultimately prolong  my life.  It’s not about fitting into skinny jeans, or looking hot in tank tops, (although these are certainly not bad side effects), it’s about being healthy and deciding the money you spend on food now will save you money on medical expenses and improve your quality of life later.  Period.

I am definitely feeling renewed to tackle Phase 6 of New Rules of Lifting for Women.  This is a strength building phase.  There is lots of focus on perfecting the chin up and I’m looking forward to the challenge.   I will continue with kettlebell practice as well.  I just ordered Rachel Cosgrove’s book The Female Body Breakthrough and I look forward to reading that.  Rachel is a gym owner, personal trainer, triathlete, and wife of Alwyn Cosgrove who has expertly designed countless weight lifting programs including The New Rules of Lifting for Women I am doing now.  I am expecting great things!  She also has a great blog you can check out here.

I am SO looking forward to getting back to work!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Training for week 11/8/09 – 11/14/09 at Living Lean.

meta

