Would You Jump Off a Bridge if a Doctor Told You To?

November 17, 2009 § 3 Comments

I often wonder why people take a doctor’s advice as gospel.  What ever happened to doing a little of your own research and making an informed decision?

Example 1 –

Recently, a friend a I were having a discussion about our kids and vitamins during  this cold and flu season.  My friend told me that her doctor recommended her kids take those Viactiv chews to get some extra Vitamin D since they weren’t big milk drinkers.  It sounds like good advice until you read what’s in them.  Don’t go to Viactiv’s website though because they don’t disclose the nutritional information!  I found the ingredients on another website:

Corn Syrup, Calcium Carbonate, Sugar, Nonfat Milk, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Cocoa Powder, Partially Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Artificial Flavor, Salt, Soy Lecithin, Glyceryl Monostearate, Vitamin D3, Sodium Phosphate, Vitamin K1

See anything wrong with this picture?  First thing I notice is the hydrogentated oils.  Who knows about the other stuff.  I’d have to look it up!  In any case, not something I’d give to my kids.

Example 2 –

I know there is SO much controversey about the swine flu vaccination already but I have to bring this up because I’m quite dissapointed.  There are recent reports that Dr. Oz, made famous by appearing on the Oprah Winfrey show and now has his own show, will take the swine flu shot himself but his “WIFE won’t let their 4 kids vaccinated”.  REALLY?  If the vaccine was that safe and effective, wouldn’t he give it to his kids as an insurance policy?  Here’s video of Dr. Oz talking with Campbell Brown about it. 

For the record, I choose not to get the swine flu vaccination and will not get my kids vaccinated.  This is what is going to make me sleep better at night.  Certainly I don’t have problem with people choosing otherwise.  The bottom line is educate yourself!  Doing a little research about things even if they come from a doctor is in YOUR best interests!

Tagged: ,

§ 3 Responses to Would You Jump Off a Bridge if a Doctor Told You To?

  • chris j says:

    People take it as gospel because the doctors spend 6 or so years in school learning the stuff.

    However, people have forgotten some things. Like get a second opinion .

    As for not getting the flu shot, you have to ask yourself why. I can point you to some great sites done by Scientists, who actually know what they’re talking about. The problem is there are too many “Celebrities” who get more credit than actual doctors because the Celeb is on tv more. People have the “If they’re on tv, they must know what they’re talking about stupditiy syndrom going on”

    I’m not getting the flu shot. Not because I don’t trust it, it’s been tested, it’s the same as the normal flu shot just with the Hiney virus in it instead of the normal flu virus, but because they are always saying there is not enough to go around. Several of my co-workers have gotten the shot and they’re fine. However I think it’s more important to not get the shot if it means a kid or an elderly person can get it instead.

    • greenteagrl says:

      Well, then we should listen if they spend 6 years in school! NOT!!!! Seriously, you think a suggestion for a calcium supplement needs a second opinion? I certainly agree anything major needs at least 2 if not more opinions.

      Dr. Oz isn’t just a “TV personality”, he’s a heart surgeon. Don’t you think it’s a HUGE contradiction to advise the public to receive the flu shot, then say that his own kids won’t be getting it. Wouldn’t he want the peace of mind that his kids are protected? Instead he blames the decision not to vaccinate on his wife! I mean is that a joke?!? If you can point me in the direction of a scientific study done that was not funded by a pharmaceutical company, I’d be happy to read it. Otherwise I’m not interested.

      I was hospitalized in 1993 for pneumonia 2 days after getting a flu shot so yeah I kinda have a problem with it. I certainly respect your opinion, but I’ll stick to eating healthy, managing stress, exercising, and supplementing with Vitamin D.

  • essetaIneno says:

    Many of people blog about this topic but you wrote down really true words!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Would You Jump Off a Bridge if a Doctor Told You To? at Living Lean.

meta

