Recipe: Basic Cranberry Sauce

November 24, 2009 § Leave a comment

Thanksgiving is upon us so that must mean cranberry season! Instead of having high fructose corn syrup laden canned cranberry sauce this year, why not make your own? It’s extremely easy and can be done ahead of time.

There is a feature on cranberries in this year’s holiday issue of Cooking Light magazine. One fact I’d like to share with you: “The ORAC (Oxygen Radical Absorbance Capacity) score for cranberries is 9,584 while blueberries average only 6,552. ORAC is the test used to measure a foods’ antioxidant levels.” So enjoy some cranberry sauce and get some good antioxidants.  🙂

This brings me to my favorite recipe for basic cranberry sauce. I initially saw this recipe in the November, 2007 issue of Cooking Light magazine. As usual, I had to make changes based on what I had in the house but I ended up with a sauce I really liked, so I kept it.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 to 1 cup packed brown sugar depending how sweet or tart you like it. I use 3/4 cup.
  • 1/2 cup apple juice
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons honey
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1 (12 oz) package fresh cranberries
  • 1 (3 inch) cinnamon stick

Combine brown sugar through honey in a sauce pan and simmer until the sugar dissolves. Add the remaining ingredients and simmer on medium heat until the cranberries begin to pop and the sauce thickens, about 15 minutes. Remove from heat and let it cool. Cranberries have natural pectin so the sauce will thicken as it cools. Transfer to a container and refrigerate until ready to use.

The original recipe called for dark brown sugar and orange juice. I’ve never tried it this way, but it’s rated well by others who have made it. Check out the original recipe here.

Here’s is a picture of my cranberry sauce this year.

The sauce is also delicious over a Thanksgiving sandwich the day after. 🙂 I hope you’ll give this one a try!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recipe: Basic Cranberry Sauce at Living Lean.

meta

