Product Review: Tru Roots Organic Germinated Brown Rice

February 2, 2010 § Leave a comment

I’m always on the lookout for good non-wheat whole grain choices, so when I saw this product at my local health food store I had to give it a try. I found it in the rice section next to sprouted mung beans and sprouted lentils made by the same company. I picked it up and read that germinating brown rice activates enzymes present in the rice enhancing its amino acid profile. I decided to give it a shot. I cooked it my rice cooker and it cooks up just like regular brown rice. It has a nuttier texture than regular brown rice with a little bit more of a bite.

Upon further inspection of the nutritional information, I found that compared with Lundberg Organic Long Grain Brown Rice, Tru Roots contains 20 more calories per serving, o.5 grams more fat, 3 more grams carbohydrate, 1 gram less fiber, but has the same protein content at 4 grams per serving. It’s worth noting that Tru Roots does contain 2% calcium (based on a 2,000 calorie diet) and Lundberg contains none. Also, Tru Roots, has double the iron of Lundberg.

All things considered, I’d still purchase this product again just to change it up a bit. Here’s a picture of the finished product:

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Product Review: Tru Roots Organic Germinated Brown Rice at Living Lean.

meta

