Training Week 1/31 – 2/6/10

February 7, 2010 § 5 Comments

I wanted to focus on building my presses this week, so I spent 2 days doing just that.  Not sure if it’s the pressing volume or the snatches or both, but my elbow was bothering me after the first session which included snatches.  I would like to start Enter the Kettlebell pressing 10kg because 8kg is going to be too easy.  I can press 10kg about 20 times with the left side but I am not sure if I’m strong enough to do the high volume of pressing that is required for ETK.  I can do 12 TGUs comfortably with 12kg.  Here’s my week:

Sunday, 1/31 – kettlebell practice – single 12kg TGUs followed by 16kg swings for as many rounds in possible in 20 minutes.  Totals:  11 TGUs, 275 swings.

Monday, 2/1 – kettlbell practice – 8kg clean and press/pull ladders, 3 ladders, 5 rungs (total of 90 presses).  Did 6 chin ups for the pull but my hands were taking a beating so switched to rows.  5 minutes easy pace snatches.  64 in 5 minutes.  3×3 barbell squats.  Entire workout was under 40 minutes.

Tuesday, 2/2 – 45 minute spin class.  Tough, near vomitting, good time. 🙂

Wednesday, 2/3 – kettlebell practice – 8kg clean and press/pull ladders, 5 ladders, 4 rungs (total of 100 presses).  Chin ups used on the single pull only, then switched to rows.  7 minutes of swings, sets of 30 w/20 seconds rest.  194 total.  Entire workout about 40 minutes.

Thursday, 2/4 – As many rounds of this circuit in 20 minutes:  3 barbell deadlifts, 5 TRX atomic push ups, 20 kettlebell swings, 20 seconds rest.  Completed 9 rounds + 20 swings.  The totals: 27 deadlifts, 45 atomic push ups, 200 swings.  I could have completed more rounds but the TRX was slowing me down a bit.  Next time I’ll try just regular push ups.

Friday, 2/5 – 45 minute spin class.  Same instructor as Tuesday but not nearly as tough.  Boo!

Saturday, 2/6 – OFF 

Not sure what my plan is for next week yet, but I will continue to press.  Until next week friends, train hard.  🙂

Tagged: , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Training Week 1/31 – 2/6/10

  • I ran through ETK without any elbow pain. Could you potentially be flaring out your elbows when you press? Sometimes I get joint pain when I isolate a joint with really heavy weight, such as with a heavy dumbbell extension with one arm. I could see a similar effect happening if your arm is getting squirrely on the press. I hope I’m explaining my thoughts correctly…rest assured I can IMAGINE what I”m talking about really well.

    All in all, it looks like you kicked butt this week! I think you’re going to love kettlebells for the “weird strength” aspect they impart. My dog weighs 50 lbs but he feels like he weighs 80 when I have to pick him up because he’s kicking and squirming and generally doesn’t want to be lifted into the air. The oddness and inefficiency of the kettlebell better prepares you for that sort of thing than a perfectly balanced, efficient barbell/dumbbell. Anyway, I’ve rambled enough, great job this week!

  • greenteagrl says:

    I fell on my elbow in my driveway a little over a year ago and that’s where my elbow pain comes from. I am looking forward to the challenge and real world functional strength I’ll gain. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

  • I fell on my elbow on my tile floor after I tried clap-pullups on one of those door-gym setups and it came loose while I was airborne.

    This is why single men shouldn’t be trusted to live alone 😉

  • Great workouts!! MY gosh. That’s terrific. Way to go. You inspire me to keep plugging away at the gym! I really want to try a spin class and workout with kettlebells! Thanks for sharing!

    Jen 🙂

  • greenteagrl says:

    Thanks for stopping by Jen! If you get a good instructor, spin is so much fun. It’s a great change of pace for me. I like a break from sprinting especially in the winter. Kettlebells are awesome. No doubt. You should give them a try!
    Julie

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Training Week 1/31 – 2/6/10 at Living Lean.

meta

