Training Week 2/14 – 2/20/10

February 20, 2010 § 2 Comments

Great week.  I didn’t seem to need as many rest days. 

Here it is:

Sunday, 2/14 – Barbell squat 3×3, then 10 minutes alternating 12kg TGUs and 25 swings (16kg).  6 TGUs and 150 swings.  Time 18:29.

Monday, 2/15 – Clean, press, pull ladders.  3 ladders, 3 rungs, then 30 (10kg) snatches and 150 (16kg) swings.  Time 24:30.

Tuesday, 2/16 – 20 minutes of alternating 3 (95lb) deadlifts, 5 atomic push ups, 20 (16kg) kettlebell swings, and 20 seconds rest.  Managed 10 rounds plus 20 swings (one round more than 2 weeks ago!).  The totals:  30 deadlifts, 50 atomic push ups, 220 swings.

Wednesday, 2/17 – Clean, press, pull ladders.  4 ladders, 4 rungs.  Then 8 rounds of 20 (16kg) swings:20 secs rest.  160 swings.  Time 34:53.

Thursday, 2/18 – OFF

Friday, 2/19 – 45 minute spin class

Saturday, 2/20 – 4×4 barbell split squats.  Alternating sets of incline bench press and RDL, then alternating sets of db squat and chin ups.  Finished up with 5 rounds of 5 burpees, 10 (16kg) kb swings, 20 seconds rest.  Time 30:54.

I think it’s time for a 20kg kettlebell for swings.  16kg seems to be getting much easier!  I wish that were the case for presses.  I’m still struggling with 10kg. 

Other things I’d like to note: 

1.  I made sure I had a raw smoothie as my afternoon snack almost every day this week.  For two days, I used coconut milk in the smoothie and it was good when combined with banana.  Otherwise, I didn’t care for it.  I’ve also been using maca powder, which is a superfood known to regulate hormones.  I still seem to be struggling with my hormones and periods, so I am cutting back on hormone disrupters like perfumed lotion, nail polish, scented candles, etc. and supplementing with maca.  I can’t seem to give up deodorant or hair dye though.  I’ll need to work on that. 

2.  I haven’t run since 1/25.  I am temporarily cutting it back.  Treadmill sprinting is NOT sprinting and does me no good in the long run.  I am going to start again when the weather is nicer and I can kill it at the track and for when I really want to be leaner, in the spring and summer!  For now, I’m going to continue with spinning 1 or 2 times a week just to get some good sweat going on.  I do miss it a little, but it comes back quick. 

3.  I am resuming with nightly meditation.  I am not sure why I stopped but I need to get back there.  So far, it’s been difficult to clear my mind.  I know it will improve.  Meditation helps me with my stress levels (which are high lately), improve focus when I’m training, and it’s just good for general health and well being.  I like to listen to guided meditations where there is someone speaking to me and guiding me. 

On the menu next week?  More hard work, of course!  Until next week friends, train hard!  🙂

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Training Week 2/14 – 2/20/10

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Training Week 2/14 – 2/20/10 at Living Lean.

meta

