Training Week 3/7 – 3/13/10

March 13, 2010 § 3 Comments

Week five of Enter the Kettlebell, Rite of Passage is complete!  I didn’t feel it was a huge adjustment for me.  I was sort of following ETK before officially starting the program to gain strength to do the program pressing 10kg.  Thankfully I was successful in doing that.  As usual, I struggle with wanting to do so much!  I always make sure I take at least 1 day off and many times I’ll take 2 days off. 

This was also week one in my dairy free experiment and aside from terrible caffeine withdrawal headaches (because I have to have milk in my coffee), I was feeling great.  I am reminded once again how powerful caffeine is and how life is just easier not depending on something.  A big plus for me was finding out how yummy almond milk is!  I’m putting it in my afternoon smoothie and trying to figure out more uses for it!  I will do a post after the experiment is over to let you know how it went.

Here’s my training week:

Sunday, 3/7 – Barbell split squats 5×3, then 20 minutes of this circuit: 1 (12kg) TGU, 5 burpees, 20 (16kg) swings, 20 seconds rest.  Managed 9 rounds, plus 1 TGU and 3 burpees.  The totals:  9 TGUs, 48 burpees, 180 swings.  Time 32:23.

Monday, 3/8 – 45 minute spin class

Tuesday, 3/9 – ETK light day.  10kg clean, press, pull ladders.  3 ladders, 3 rungs (36 presses total).  5 minutes of 10kg snatches.  Time 24:35.

Wednesday, 3/10 – Deadlifts 4×2.  Then alternating sets of step ups, incline bench press, alternating sets of db squats, TRX rows.  Then 3 rounds of this circuit:  10 skips rope, 12 lunge jumps, 5 burpees, 20 seconds rest.

Thursday 3/11 – ETK medium day.  10kg clean, press, pull ladders.  3 ladders, 3 rungs (36 presses total).  6 minutes of 16kg swings.  25 swings, 10 seconds rest for 7 rounds + 9 reps.  Total of 184 swings.  Time 23:28.

Friday, 3/12 – OFF

Saturday, 3/13 – ETK heavy day.  10kg clean, press, pull ladders.  3 ladders, 3 rungs (36 presses total).  4 minutes of 16kg swings.  30 swings, 10 seconds rest for 4 rounds + 11 reps.  Total of 131 swings.  Time 21:35.

I am going to stick with cardio one time per week for now.  My first priority is ETK, followed by heavy compound lifts, and my last priority is cardio. 

Until next week friends, train hard.  🙂

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Training Week 3/7 – 3/13/10

  • Beth says:

    Nice start to ETK, Julie! 🙂

  • c wiss says:

    Grab a can of coconut milk and try that out too. It’s in the “asian” food section.

  • greenteagrl says:

    @Beth – Thanks for stopping by, my friend. I am looking foward to making some good progress. Week 1 is done!

    @C Wiss Thanks for the suggestion. I am 1/2 Thai so I use coconut milk when I make curry. I have tried it in a smoothie but it’s too thick for my taste. Maybe just a few tablespoons would be good. How do you use it?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Training Week 3/7 – 3/13/10 at Living Lean.

meta

