Adventures in Cooking 3/31/10

March 31, 2010 § Leave a comment

Another month has gone by already, and I am continuing on my cooking adventure. I stopped eating eggs and dairy for 3 weeks during this period so that I can see how I felt and if it improved my allergies. You can find the result of this experiment in this post. In addition, since I wasn’t getting to the closest grass fed beef farm near me, which is an hour an a half away, I decided to try ordering meats from U.S. Wellness Meats. They are a great company working with farmers to sell quality grass fed beef, free range chicken, and many other quality meats. There is a link to their site on the right sidebar if you want to check them out. My order arrived frozen by Fed Ex overnight 2 days after my order was placed and the few things I’ve tried so far have been delicious.

First up, a Sauteed Cabbage recipe from the book “Quick and Easy Indian Cooking”, by Madhur Jaffrey. I used a half a head of cabbage left over from brisket and cabbage for St. Patty’s Day. This was a delicious way to use up extra cabbage that I may have otherwise forgot about and eventually thrown out. The original recipe calls for fennel seeds and I am not a fan of licorice tasting things, so I skipped that ingredient altogether. It had cumin seeds, garam masala, and cayenne pepper in it.  It was so easy and delicious.  I would certainly make it again.  I just served it with an organic roasted chicken.

Here’s a picture of the finished dish:

Next up, Chili Tamale Bowls. If that sounds delicious to you, then you really have GOT to try this! I saw this on Rachel Ray’s talk show. Basically, it’s an ancho chili over quick cooking polenta that’s been squished in the bottom of a bowl to form a “tamale bowl”.  I was thrilled to find organic polenta.  Mainstream corn is likely genetically modified and I like to avoid that as much as possible. 

Here’s the brand I used: 

Here’s the link to her recipe. I used ground chicken in place of pork and I added a drained and rinsed can of organic black beans to it as well.  When making the polenta, I used a mixture of organic chicken broth and water and not the broth and milk like the recipe is written.  I also skipped out on the cheese topping and garnishes.

Here’s a photo of my tamale bowl:

When I was on my 3 week no dairy or egg experiment, I came up with a few things to have for lunch. I made up a wrap that I’ve been loving lately. It’s a roasted garlic hummus and raw veggie wrap in an ezekial tortilla. Ezekial breads, wraps, english muffins, and other ezekial products are made from sprouted whole grains and contain more protein than regular bread. In fact, ezekial products are a complete protein on their own and contain no flour at all.

Here’s the package of the brand I love:

Ingredients for the wrap:

  • a few tablespoons Sabra roasted garlic hummus, or any hummus you have on hand
  • 4 slices organic cucumber
  • 4 slices organic red pepper
  • a small bunch of clover sprouts

Put the hummus as the base of your wrap and top with cucumber, red pepper, and clover sprouts. Roll it up and enjoy.

Here’s a photo of my wrap:

I have even been sending this to work with my husband. He says it doesn’t get soggy from the cucumber. If you’re looking for something different for lunch, give this wrap a try.

The other thing I made for lunch quite a bit was a quinoa salad with raw finely diced red onion, green pepper, a can of chickpeas, and a dressing of EVOO, lemon juice, italian seasoning, salt, and pepper. I would top it with clover sprouts and steamed broccoli. I will post the full recipe with pictures in an upcoming post.

I have a few ideas of things I’d like to try for April. Stay tuned! 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Adventures in Cooking 3/31/10 at Living Lean.

meta

