Recipe: Chia Pudding

April 25, 2010 § 5 Comments

Chia seeds are becoming very popular among the health conscious crowd. Not only are they used to thicken puddings and smoothies, they contain protein, fiber, and they are a good source of omega 3 fatty acids.

My friend, @gardendelish, recently gave me a recipe for chia pudding. It looked SO simple I just had to try it! What I love about the recipe is that it can easily be adapted to any lifestyle you follow, whether that be raw, paleo, vegetarian, etc.  Here’s a photo of the chia seeds when you purchase them at the store:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup chia seeds
  • 1.5 cups coconut milk (about a can) or almond milk
  • 1/2 tablespoon raw cacao powder (I love Navitas Naturals brand)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 – 2 tablespoons agave nectar (optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon (optional)
  • Pinch of sea salt

Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl. Be sure to mix well to break up any lumps in the chia seeds or the cocoa. I like to let it sit covered in the refrigerator for a 1/2 hour and enjoy. I’ve eaten this the next night after making it and it’s still yummy.

I’ve made the recipe with both full fat coconut milk and almond milk. Both are equally delicious. The coconut milk is very thick and rich and you can’t eat much of it in one sitting. The almond milk, on the other hand has a slimy texture but it’s still very good.

Here’s a photo of the coconut milk version:

Here’s a photo of the almond milk version:

I may give this recipe a try with light coconut milk next time. I love the coconut flavor but looking for it to be just a little less rich.

If you’re looking for ways to incorporate chia seeds into your diet, there are lots of ideas in the recipe section of the Navitas Naturals website.

Hope you’ll give this recipe a try!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Recipe: Chia Pudding

  • Sue says:

    Thanks for posting the recipe – I was interested after I saw you tweet it! I’m going to try it with banana instead of the cacao powder. 🙂

  • greenteagrl says:

    Hey Sue! Thanks for commenting. I just picked up some light coconut milk to try the recipe with that tonight. Let me know if you give it a try. 🙂

  • Jess says:

    I’ll have to try chia seeds. Another thing to add to my list. Oh, and agave nectar. Hmmmm, I wonder if somebody will give me a sample or something haha.

  • Kim says:

    This looks excellent. I will sub raw honey for the agave, since i’ve heard a lot of not good stuff about agave lately–it’s highly processed and as bad as high fructose corn syrup.

  • greenteagrl says:

    @Jess – You’ll have to let me know if you try it!
    @Kim – I have read the new info on agave also. I don’t think a sweetener is even necessary in the recipe to be honest, but raw honey would be the way to go. Enjoy!

    Thanks for visiting and commenting!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recipe: Chia Pudding at Living Lean.

meta

