Recipe: Black Bean Avocado Salsa

June 11, 2010 § 6 Comments

I had this salsa at a party many years ago, and the hostess gave me the recipe. I make it every summer almost all summer long. It’s especially amazing if you have access to fresh tomatoes and sweet white corn. It’s great with tortilla chips, as a side dish, or over egg whites.

Ingredients:

  • 2 (14 oz) cans black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 (14 oz) can corn, drained OR 3 ears of fresh corn boiled, then cut the kernels off
  • 1 medium or 1/2 of large red onion chopped
  • 1 large tomato seeded and chopped
  • 2 avocados (not too ripe) diced
  • 1 large handful of fresh cilantro (or parsley) chopped
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • juice of 2 limes

Mix black beans, corn, red onion, tomato, cilantro or parsley, olive oil, vinegar, salt and pepper, and juice of 1 lime. Cover and put in the refrigerator for a few hours or overnight. Before serving, cut and add the avocado and the juice of the other lime. Serve immediately.

Serves – a bunch of people. 🙂

Here’s a picture of the salsa:

Hope you’ll give this recipe a try this summer!

§ 6 Responses to Recipe: Black Bean Avocado Salsa

  • spabettie says:

    minus the cilantro THIS LOOKS AMAZING 🙂 🙂 and I would totally eat this as a side dish !

    • greenteagrl says:

      That’s why I put cilantro or parsley because it tastes great with flat leaf parsley also. I’ve had it both ways but prefer cilantro. Hope you enjoy it!

  • kettlebelllove says:

    I definitely will. It sounds fantastic! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    – Beth

  • liz says:

    looks like a great recipe, i’m going to try it out!
    thanks

  • Gankaku says:

    Hey there!

    I made this today. It’s really amazing. I never had avocado in salsa before (only mostly in smoothies) and that’s why I was interested to try the recipe, especially since you described how much you ate or that you could eat it all summer 😀 in your tweet.

    I forgot to pick up limes but substituted lemon. I also didn’t have red onions but used shallots, which always work nicely. I put both parsley and cilantro, since I have both in my herb garden. I will serve it to my family when they get home – I’m sure they’re all going to love it.

    Now I have something new to eat with my burritos, instead of Tostitos salsa haha I’d much rather eat this. Also a good way to get more beans into the diet.

  • […] from these recipes, I’ve been eating alot of my Black Bean Avocado Salsa and Easy Roasted Summer Vegetables. The rest of my diet is rounded out with fresh cherries (gotta […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recipe: Black Bean Avocado Salsa at Living Lean.

meta

