Adventures in Cooking 6/30/10

July 1, 2010 § 2 Comments

It’s been a while since I’ve updated. I’ve had so much going on with end of the school year activities plus my regular day to day things. Now that we are into the summer months, I’ve really been on a raw food kick. I have been making my own raw bars using recipes from Thrive: Vegan Nutrition Guide to Optimal Performance in Sports and Life. They are amazing!

I am growing some herbs, zucchini, and red chard in my own garden. To supplement, there is a great organic farm within a few miles of my house. They grow all sorts of produce. In addition, they have farm fresh eggs and honey. I really try to take advantage of the fresh ingredients. Even buying things I don’t normally eat, and finding something to do with it!

Here’s what I’ve been up to:

Raw Bars – These recipes are in the Thrive book linked above. I’ve tried “Chocolate Blueberry Energy Bars”, “Banana Bread Energy Bars”, and “Mango Coconut Energy Bars”. These bars are super easy to prepare in a food processor. Once they are processed, you turn it out on a sheet of wax paper and form them into bars. Most recipes make a dozen bars, but the banana bread recipe I was finding to be short by 2 or 3 bars, probably because it’s dependant on the size of the banana you’re using. Here’s a photo of the banana bread bars before I formed them into bars:

Here’s the finished banana bread bars:

Here’s the finished mango coconut bars:

Raw Pizza – I made the “Spicy Black Eyed Pea Quinoa Pizza”. For the pizza sauce, I used “Sweet Pepper Hemp Pesto”. For toppings, I chose what I had on hand and from the farm. Shredded beet, sweet potato, thinly sliced leeks, and broccoli florets. Here’s a photo of the sweet pepper hemp pesto:

Here’s a picture of the pizza crust. Basically quinoa (I used red quinoa here), black eyed peas, EFA oil blend, and spices.

Here’s the pizza crust with the pesto over top.

Here’s a photo of the pizza with some lovely toppings.

A picture of the finished pizza. Delish!

I also made a few cooked dishes here and there.  One was roasted clams and cherry tomatoes over farm fresh arugula. I took this basic recipe for “Spaghetti with Oven Baked Clams” from Tyler Florence and just replaced the spaghetti with arugula and I chose to omit the pancetta out of the recipe. I’ve made it before with nitrate free bacon instead of pancetta and it’s amazing if you choose to use it. You could also use a few drops of liquid smoke to get that smoke flavor. It tasted just as good without the smokey flavor in my opinion. I got a nice loaf of crusty bread to go with it. Amazing! Here’s a photo of the finished dish:

Aside from these recipes, I’ve been eating alot of my Black Bean Avocado Salsa and Easy Roasted Summer Vegetables. The rest of my diet is rounded out with fresh cherries (gotta eat them while you can!), watermelon, mangos, and blueberries.

Not sure what I have planned the next month, but I think I will continue with a few raw food recipes.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Adventures in Cooking 6/30/10

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Adventures in Cooking 6/30/10 at Living Lean.

meta

