Adventures in Cooking 7/31/10

August 4, 2010 § Leave a comment

This has been a busy month in the kitchen. I’ve been experimenting with sprouting chickpeas and quinoa and continuing with making energy bars from the Thrive book. I purchased Sun Warrior protein which is a raw, non-GMO, vegan, brown rice protein powder. Although it’s a little chalky, I am happy with it. I feel good that my body is getting superior fuel. I plan on experimenting with using Sun Warrior in the energy bars. Here’s their website if you’d like to find out more.

Sprouting Chickpeas – I decided to try sprouting chickpeas to use in place of canned ones in the chickpea curry pizza recipe I wanted to try. Sprouting beans increase their nutritional value and it’s considered a raw food because you are not cooking the beans at all. Sprouting beans is very simple and dirt cheap. You take about a cup of dry chickpeas, rinse well, and place in a large mason jar. Fill the jar 3/4 of the way full and put cheesecloth and a rubber band over the top. After 12 hours, drain the chickpeas and rinse well swishing around in the jar. Drain out the water and let it sit in the jar about 2 days, rinsing and draining 3 times per day until sprouts form. Rinse sprouts and place in a bowl in the refrigerator. They will keep up to 1 week.

Here’s a picture of the beans placed in the mason jar:

Here’s a picture of the beans after 12 hours of soaking:

Here’s a picture of the finished sprouted beans:

I also sprouted quinoa and made raw energy bars with them, but I didn’t care for the texture as much. Sorry, I didn’t take pictures of those sprouts!

Fresh Summer Salad with Chickpea Sprouts – With all those sprouts in the refrigerator, why not throw together a yummy salad? This was a lunch salad I put together using fresh (previously boiled) corn cut off the cobb, 1/2 tomato seeded and chopped, 1/4 small red onion chopped, handful of sprouted chickpeas, fresh torn basil, 1 tablespoon hemp seeds, fresh squeezed lemon juice, organic EVOO, salt and pepper.

Chickpea Curry Pizza – From the Thrive book, I decided to give this recipe a try. For the crust, I used sprouted chickpeas, sunflower seeds, hemp oil, cumin, curry powder, turmeric, salt and pepper. Here’s a photo of the pizza crust:

The pizza sauce was green pepper hemp pesto (recipe also from Thrive):

The toppings were grated beets, sweet potato, red onion, and broccoli:

Banana Chocolate Pancakes – Another recipe from the Thrive book. I had some bananas that were getting overripe quick, so I decided to give this one a shot. I substituted cooked quinoa in place of popped amaranth. Despite using coconut oil to cook the pancakes on a low flame, they kept sticking. It was annoying. Not sure they are worth the effort. My son ate a half of one and called it a day. Can’t blame me for trying!

Here’s a photo of the finished sloppy pancakes:

Roasted Summer Veggie Casserole – This is a mix of several different recipes that I came up with after wanting to have eggplant parmesan and not wanting to fry eggplant or eat dairy. I’ve still not taken any prescrption or over the counter allergy medicines this whole year, by the way. In any case, I’ve recently been inspired by a great vegan website called The Lunchbox Bunch. On the site is a recipe for “Chive Ricotta Nut Cheese”. I followed the recipe exactly but substituted fresh basil instead of chives for no other reason than it’s growing like weeds in my yard.

Here’s a photo of my finished “ricotta”:

Instead of frying eggplant, I decided to roast veggies to layer in the casserole. I used a combination of 3 medium eggplants, peeled and sliced and 2 zucchinis sliced.  I drizzed olive oil on the veggies on a sheet pan, then sprinkled with salt, pepper, and italian seasoning. I roasted them in batches at 400 degrees for 10 minutes.

Here’s a photo of my veggies ready for layering:

I put a layer of eggplant, then zucchini, then the whole batch of nut ricotta. I finished with a layer of eggplant and zucchini, then poured a jar of organic tomato sauce (I like Muir Glen) over the top. I baked at 350 for about a 1/2 hour. This was a big hit with my husband, and even my sister didn’t suspect nuts as ricotta cheese.

Here’s a photo of my finished dish:

Here’s a photo of a slice of my second batch of the casserole with a side of organic brown rice rotelle:

I did experiment with another recipe, but I plan on posting the recipe just in time for the last few weeks of summer barbeques so stay tuned.

I hope you enjoyed my journey this month!  More exciting and delicous foods planned for next month.  🙂

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Adventures in Cooking 7/31/10 at Living Lean.

meta

