Recipe: Gluten Free Banana Muffins

January 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

I picked up a box of Quinoa flakes at the health food store today. I wanted to try it in place of oatmeal. When I was putting it away, I noticed a recipe for banana quinoa muffins on the back. Since I still had 3 over ripe bananas, I figured I’d give it a try. Of course, I had to improvise based on what I had in the house. Here’s my recipe:

Ingredients:

  • coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup quinoa flakes
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 very ripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • dark chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli 60% cacao)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Use coconut oil to grease muffin tin well. Mix flour and flakes with baking soda, baking powder, and salt. In a seperate bowl, mixed mashed bananas, honey, and eggs until blended. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix. Fill muffin cups 1/2 way up and top with a chocolate chip. I got about 10 muffins. Put in the pre-heated oven for 20 minutes. Remove from the oven and run a knife around edges of the muffin in tin. Let it cool 10 minutes before moving it to a cooling rack.

These came out moist and delicious. The next time I make the recipe, I will lower the temperature and see how that comes out. I would also, add 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon in there.

Here’s the finished muffins. They’re a big hit!!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recipe: Gluten Free Banana Muffins at Living Lean.

meta

